What am I doing here?

image

So what the heck am I doing in Japan for 3 months?  Sitting here in my apartment I am kind of wondering the same thing in all honesty.

I work for a Japanese – based pharmaceutical company.   We have an ambassador program where individuals can work remotely from one of the other office locations (US, Leiden, or Tokyo) for anywhere from 3 months to multiple years.  There has to be a business s need and it is a very rare opportunity – I’m actually the first person in my department to be invited to go to Japan… not that I’m bragging or anything.

While I’m here I will have my usual workload,  but also working to gain an in depth understanding of our Japanese colleagues,  and Japanese process.  It isn’t surprising that Japan works very differently from the US.  I’ll also be working on behalf of our Standards group hoping to help us move forward with aligning our regions more closely.  It won’t happen in three months,  but I hope I help foster understandings more swiftly than could be done over the phone or via email.

While I have high hopes for what can be accomplished at work,  I also have high hopes for what growth I will accomplish personally.  It’s going to be a wild ride and I look forward to sharing it with you all!

image

Leave a Reply

